•   Assessments We Use
  • PARCC Grades 3-12

    The Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC) is a consortium of states that collaboratively developed a common set of assessments to measure student achievement and preparedness for college and careers. The PARCC assessments are aligned to the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) and were created to measure students' ability to apply their knowledge of concepts rather than memorizing facts. The PARCC assessments require students to solve problems using mathematical reasoning and to be able to model mathematical principles. In English Language Arts (ELA), students will be required to closely read multiple passages and to write essay responses in literary analysis, research tasks and narrative tasks. The assessments will also provide teachers information on student progress to inform instruction and provide targeted student support.

    For more information visit: www.state.nj.us/education/sca/parcc/


    Fountas and Pinnell Benchmark Assessment System (BAS) Grades K, 1

    Teachers’ most reliable resource to accurately and reliably identify each child’s instructional and independent reading levels according to the F&P Text Level Gradient™, A–Z and document their progress through one-on-one formative and summative assessments. The Fountas & Pinnell Benchmark Assessment Systems provide teachers with precise tools and texts to observe and quantify specific reading behaviors, and then interpret and use that data to plan meaningful instruction.

    This tool allows teachers to Identify each student’s reading level during this one-on-one, student-teacher assessment conference.

    Each assessment enables teachers to:

    • Determine students’ instructional and independent reading levels
    • Recommend a placement level for instruction Form initial groups for reading instruction
    • Plan for efficient and effective instruction
    • Identify students who need intervention and extra help
    • Monitor and report student progress across a school year and grade levels
    • Assess the outcomes of teaching Inform parent conferences.

    For more information visit: fountasandpinnell.com/bas/


    Developmental Reading Assessment (DRA2) Grades 2-5

    The Developmental Reading Assessment®, Second Edition, PLUS (DRA2+) is a formative reading assessment in which teachers are able to systematically observe, record, and evaluate changes in student reading performance.

    DRA2+ is a proven, criterion-referenced assessment and includes recommendations for scaffolded support to increase student reading proficiency. DRA2+ has undergone rigorous field-testing and is supported by sound validity and reliability analyses.

    For more information visit: www.pearsonschool.com/index.cfm?locator=PSZw5u


    The Number Knowledge Test Grades K-2

    The Number Knowledge Test was developed to measure a student’s conceptual knowledge of number (number sense) as a valuable first step in determining the students’ intuitive knowledge of numbers and their preexisting knowledge of math skills. Students’ test results can be used to confirm or adjust their future lessons, as well as inform and differentiate instruction. It is relatively quick to administer, 5 to 15 minutes. If administered at both the beginning and end of an instructional period, the Number Knowledge Test may also be used to measure the progress and developmental growth of a student over time. Research has shown that the knowledge assessed at each level of this test is essential for successful learning of arithmetic in school and is foundational for higher mathematics learning. The assessment has been cited in the works of Geary, Gertsen, Jordan and Flojo as the best robust probe of young students' developmental level in mathematics.

    To read more about number sense and the value of early screening for numeracy, please see:
    Early Predictors of Mathematics Achievement and Mathematics Learning Difficulties


    New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge Science Grades 4 and 8

    The Science test measures fourth and eighth grade students' ability to recall information and to solve problems by applying science concepts. The Science test assesses knowledge and application skills in three clusters; each cluster contains multiple-choice items and constructed-response items. The NJ CCCS numbers corresponding to the three clusters: Earth, Physical and Life Science.

    For more information visit: www.state.nj.us/education/assessment/njask/


    Alternate Proficiency Assessment in Science (APA)

    The Alternate Proficiency Assessment (APA) in science is a portfolio assessment designed to measure progress toward achieving New Jersey's state educational standards for those students with the most significant intellectual disabilities who are unable to participate in the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJASK) Science or the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT).

    For more information visit: www.state.nj.us/education/assessment/apa/


    Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM)

    The alternate assessment for students with the most significant intellectual disabilities in English Language Arts and Mathematics is called the Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM). The state of New Jersey and 12 other states have been working with the University of Kansas to develop and implement the new assessment system.

    For more information visit:


    ACCESS for ELLs 2.0

    ACCESS for ELLs 2.0 is a secure large-scale English language proficiency assessment administered to Kindergarten through 12th grade students who have been identified as English language learners (ELLs). It is given annually in WIDA Consortium member states to monitor students' progress in acquiring academic English. ACCESS for ELLs 2.0 is only available to Consortium member states.

    For more information visit: www.wida.us/assessment/ACCESS20.aspx#about


    The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT)

    The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is a state test given to students to measure whether they have gained the knowledge and skills identified in the Biology section of the Science Core Curriculum Content Standards (CCCS). The CCCS adopted by the State Board of Education, identify what students should know and be able to do at the end of various benchmark years. In May 2008, all New Jersey public high school students enrolled in a requisite Biology course were required to participate in the End of Course Biology Test, which replaced HSPA Science. In 2010, the End of Course Biology test was renamed New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT). For the NJBCT, all New Jersey public high school students, regardless of grade level, who are enrolled in a Biology course or content equivalent during the school year must take the test, regardless of prior testing exposure and experience.

    For more information visit: www.state.nj.us/education/assessment/hs/njbct.shtml